Bastard Sun.

It’s fucking evil the sun out here. A right nasty piece of shit. Comes up just before the locals start wailing and hangs there all fucking day like a proper menace. I have to smear meself in Army issue factor fifty to keep it from torching me skin. Makes me look like Casper the fucking ghost. It doesn’t bother some of the lads though. Some of em love it and actually volunteer to go out on patrols. ‘Can’t go home without a tan, Ginge.’ Last thing Danny ever said to me as he walked out of the compound, wearing that dopey grin. Me complexion’s not right for this bastard sun. At night when I lay half naked on me bunk I can feel it waiting for me outside in the dark, readying itself for tomorrow. Fucking bastard.

Leave a Reply

